Getting Involved : My First PTO Meeting

One thing that’s for certain,  I have a clear vision on where I want to go next.   I want to DO more.  I want to get more involved not just in the community but with my sons’ schools.

So where to start?  I figured I would start with Liam’s PTO.

I have been known to be oblivious to what is going on at my kids school.  Or even the name of their school is I must be completely honest.

“Bill, what school does your son go to?”

“That school near my house…”

Now its time to change this.  I know I can be of value.  I am more than willing to volunteer my time and my resources as a local restaurant manager.

My first meeting was an experience.  2 men, 20 women.  Some friendly…some not so friendly.  Politics run rampant in this organizations as well I see.

I kept mostly quiet, mainly because I had no clue what they were talking about but by the end I had a good idea of what I can do to help.  I volunteered for a couple events and had a nice chat with the President afterwords.

Welcome to this world, Billeb0792646a8ad2b01b9f442cceea0abe

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2016 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a comment