$.99 life boat : Surviving Autism Tantrums In Public

Sometimes parents who have children with behavioral disabilities shield them from the outside world as much as possible.  They don’t want to deal with the glaring eyes and judging looks when their child has a meltdown.  

Even worse, in some cases they even shut  in themselves from the outside world as well.  Ordering takeout and shopping with Amazon Pantry. 

I can’t say this wasn’t true about myself to some extent.  I wouldn’t go to a restaurant with Liam for almost a whole year after  my 30th birthday dinner,  where he caused such a scene that many tables left or asked to be moved.  

This year I refused to live that kind of life.  We expose Liam to everything.  Movie theaters, grocery stores, the Ocean, Restaurants, even Hiking.  

There are some times that meltdowns are eminent.  Usually when we have to leave somewhere fun.  He hates hates hates any store.  When it becomes too much to bare we turn to the “.99 cent life boat.” Every kid has them.   “Inexpensive silencers” I call them.  

For Liam they are M&Ms(“Yems”), lollipops “suckers”, and those little balloons on a stick conveniently placed at the check out.  

For those who roll your eyes and say “you just give him everything he wants” you are the same people rolling your eyes wishing my kid would just be quiet.  He doesn’t get them every time nor does he need them.  But when you are in that kind of situation they can be a life saver.  

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

