July Resolution Recap

1.  Tell people what you want :

I decided to be mindful of making sure that the people in my life understand my expectations.  Whether it be my employees, kids, even my own wife.

I realized that I can’t get mad at them if I haven’t clearly defined what I would like them to do or not do.

Does it always work? No, but at least I am doing my part so that when I unleash my wrath they won’t be surprised. 🙂  But most of the time,  I am pleasantly surprised to find that all I needed to do was to ask.

2. Put into rotation:

Back in January, I set out to clear out all my clutter in all areas of my life.  Now we are over half way through the year.

What hasn’t been used since it was organized?

Use it or lose it.  All old gadgets or gizmos sitting on the shelf have 5 months to be used or out they go.

I fired up the old 🎹 keyboard a few times this month.  Maybe a good future Resolutions.

3. Stop giving a fuck:

AKA stop stressing about all the things you have to do and the little time you have to do them.   One day at a time

Stop worrying about other people’s perception.  It probably my most difficult resolution to date.  And something I failed constantly at.

 

4.  Cut portion sizes in half.

Successful sometimes.  Nearly impossible in others.  But I have been actively training my body to consume smaller portion sizes.

I have been able to go from a large iced coffee to a medium.  A Footlong to a 6 inch.  And a Pizza to a Flatbread.  Fried to Grilled.

I found that the key is to not let myself get too hungry.  When the “hangry” (anger due to hunger) comes out I feel like I need to eat everything because I will never eat again.

5.  Seek out Deals :

Had a lot of fun this month.  And as you know.  Fun equals expensive.  So I used many different avenues to have fun and not pay out the ass.

Read more here.

6. Tackle Procrastination ;

Just a massive to do list each day that starts with me doing the “worst first”

Covered my struggle with procrastination  in greater detail here. 

7.  Craft my Ultimate Bucket List;

Whenever I had an idea for something that I wanted to do before I died, I would write it in a little note-book.  I have over 100 things on my list.

I will save that for a rainy day.

 

8.  Practice the Art of Small Talk ;

I may be too  introverted to engage in small talk with a total stranger or have too much of a restless mind to remember little tidbits of information like where you vacationed last summer or what your wife does for a living, but I understand the importance of small talk in networking and building relationships

I read “The Fine Art of Small Talk” be Debra Fine, twice.  And I put it into  practice.  Asked the Dentist who long he has been in his current location,  asked my  guests how their oldest was doing in college, entertained my staff when they told me about their wild weekend.

I’m no expert.  At the very least.  They know I care.

 

Conclusion :  July was very busy fun as well as exhaustingsummer.  One more month of Summer and then like the seasons, the project will change again.

Thanks for reading so far.

 

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

