Eat That Frog – Tackling Procrastination

I just spent the last half hour wearing a ninja turtle mask and sitting across the floor from Liam acting as his “mirror”.  Mimicking his every move and sound much to his delight.   

Broke his heart when I had to stop to get some stuff done.  Like this.  

Let’s talk about “eating 🐸 s”.  No not literally.  It’s a popular figure of speech used to tackle procrastination.  

“Mark Twain once said that if the first thing you do each morning is to eat a live frog, you can go through the day with the satisfaction of knowing that that is probably the worst thing that is going to happen to you all day long”. Brian Tracy
Your “frog” is the the least exciting, least enjoyable task that you must accomplish.  Most people, including myself avoid these tasks like the plague.

I love to procrastinate.  Which is sometimes a good thing depending on the situation.  But more often than not it can lead at a lot of stress and anxiety.  

So this month, I decided to “eat my frog” first thing in the morning.  

Each morning and afternoon I would make my To-Do list and then I would select the item that I wanted to do the least.  

At work it might be… putting the food order away, or counting the beer cooler on Mondays, or checking the employee schedule.  

At home, mowing the lawn, doing the dishes, cooking.  

What I found by doing all these things first was that I would get more done.  The saying is correct.  Once then worst was out of the way, it made the rest of the day go by more smoothly.  

There are so many tactics for handling procrastination but I would suggest reading Brian Tracy’s seminar of the same name, Eat that Frog.  Or practicing the 5 second rule, which I covered earlier in the year.   

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

1 thought on “Eat That Frog – Tackling Procrastination”

  1. Great post! It reminded me of a tactic from Tim Ferriss: do all the “heavy lifting” before 11am so it’s out of the way early on. I’ve adopted this myself to avoid procrastinating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

