Middle Eastern Fest : The Food Of My People

My last name is Haddad.  But if you met me on the street you would be starring at a broad , Irish ginger.  

One may wonder how such a white boy got such a Middle Eastern last name.

 My o’le man, of Italian and English decent was adopted by my Italian Grandma and Lebanese Grandfather.  I get my Irish features from my mother. 

While being raised on homestyle Italian “mama cooking”, my dad still loved his grape leaves stuffed with rice and meat, and tabbouleh (parsley salad)on pita bread.  

Picky eater that I was,  I never touched the stuff until just this year.   I think tabbouleh is delicious but Don’t care for the grape leaves.  

Now it’s time to try so more of the popular cruisine by heading to the local middle Eastern fest at St. Elais Church. 

Omg so many people.  I never would have thought this place would be so packed on a Thursday Night

30 Minutes to place my order.  20 Minutes to get the food.  I just grabbed and assortment from the vast menu.

Toom – the little white cup filled with creamy garlic paste that I would  later spread on pita and fill with the equally delicious Tabbouleh

Spinach Fateyer – the bread filled with spinach reminded me of a spanakopita pie just way lighter

Wild cucumber pickles – so salty and tangy.  Amazing

Swarma – a pork filled gyro. Satisfing to any beginner. 

Hashweh – rice with beef and spices.  Yummy.

It was a great visit.  I would have tried more but Liam was getting rowdy.  I gotta hand it to him for waiting that long without a melt down.  

I want to check out more of the local Middle Eastern Restaurants. 


Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

