Cazenovia 5K : Return To Road Races

The last time I ran at 5K race was in December of 2012.   I may have done the TM and Boilermaker every year since but my training and performance were mediocre at best.

So on the morning of 4th of July with less than a week before the Boilermaker Race, I headed up to Cazenovia for their 45th Annual 4th of July Foot Races.

I love Caz.  So many cool restaurants and shops.  Not to mention so many interconnected hiking trails.

There was a 10 mile loop around the lake but I opted for the 3.1 Mile race considering I haven’t ran that long in so long and I have to do 9.3 miles this Sunday.

 

1K – “No Hurry” by Zac Brown Band

I start out at a moderate pace.  Biggest mistake by a runner is to “come out to early” I.e.  Starting too fast and wasting all your energy.

Turn the corner on Emory Drive and there it is…huge hill.  I flip on my music and on comes Zac Brown Band.

I won’t be in any hurry getting up this hill
2K – “Devil went down to Georgia” Charlie Daniels Band

At the top of the hill we hit the 1K mark.  Time to pick up the pace and the tempo.  Charlie Daniel’s awesome fiddle work will do the trick.

 

3K  “Lose Yourself” Eminem

Like so many races before,  I depend on my mind and music to get me through these runs.  It’s more of a mental sport than anything.   The minutes and miles can go so much faster if you let your mind wonder and let the music take you somewhere else.

I’m a big country music fan but I find it hard to run to.  So I keep some high tracks with a higher tempo handy for when I run.

 This song makes me think about my days in the boarding house.  When I had to worry about what time I came home in fear of being assualted.  And what it would take to dig myself out.  

The run is easier now.  Steady down hill. 

 

4K “Invincible” Machine Gun Kelley

Waking up sweatin from the stress of being caged down

Everything I write is played out like what is this?
Tear the whole page out
Man I come from holes in the wall but they don’t know the path
Even if I told them it all, they wouldn’t know the half”

I only snap back to reality when the volunteers shout out the times at each kilometer marker.  

I’m going up a hill again and now for the first time.  I’m winded.  
 

5K ” Not Afraid”  Eminem

The thought of walking crosses my mind…but only for an instant.  

I remember how much work I had to do just to get back to running 3 miles.  How just last year I had the beginnings of a bad little drinking habit  that left me very out of shape and irritable.  

“It was my decision to get clean, I did it for me
Admittedly, I probably did it subliminally
For you, so I could come back a brand new me you helped see me through”

Soon I could see the finish line and I turned up the heat. 

“If you can fill the unforgiving Minute with 60 seconds worth of distance run, yours is the earth and everything that’s in it”

It was a great run.  No personal records were broken but it feels great to be back at it.  

 
 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

