Breaking The Workaholic Cycle

I saw my cousin over the weekend and she told me how much she loved the blog and about her recent efforts to live a more balanced life.  

She has been working 65-70 hours between getting her degree, working full time as a teacher and part time as a restaurant server for so many years. 

She realized that she was “missing out on this thing called life” and recently left her restaurant job to spend more time with her husband and hopes to be blessed with a baby in the future. 

She mentioned how hard is was at first  to break habit of working around the clock.  

The struggle is real Ashley. 

For so many years I worked 60-80 hours a week while life just flew bye.  I don’t even know where my twenties went when I stop to think about it.

 One major theme  of the project is to live a more balanced life.  It’s so hard for me to put down my work at the end of that day and not continuously check logs and emails in a business where I’m always connected.   But so far I think it’s been successful.  

I’ve been working non stop for sure…but working to live a better life and to be a better person. 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

