4th Of July and Liam

My little man had two meltdowns yesterday during the 4th of July celebrations.  One thing I learned this year about having a child with autism is the fear they have of the unknown or unfamiliar.

We took Liam to the Onondaga Parkway in the morning.  Decided to rent bicycles , one with a trailer for Liam to sit in.

Total meltdown.  It took about 10 minutes to get him strapped in and another 10 minutes of starting and stopping to comfort him before he realized how fun it was.  After the 5 mile ride we rewarded him with a trip the playground.

It makes your heart beat a little faster.  All the judging looks from people who don’t understand.

We haven’t taken him to fireworks in the last couple years but we decided to give it a try last night.

We came prepared with the strap carrier , so that he could be close to his mom if he started to lose it.

As soon as the fireworks started there were cries to go “Away”.  Meaning he wanted to leave.  We strapped him in and this helped stop the screams but he kept his eyes closed as we headed back to the car.

As we got to the car he started to calm down and was watching them.  He would get excited and point as say, ” look!!! another one” .  So we stayed by the car and watched the rest of them.

What I learned today was the importance of patience.  It takes him a good 15 minutes to realize that nothing bad is going to happen to him once he is trying something new.

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

