Mid Year Review

Today marks the end of month 6 of the happiness project.  We are half way there. 

I spent 4 hours in the car today reflecting on the year so far.  

After all my years in management I can’t help but treat it as a performance review.  Full of things to “start doing, stop doing, and continue doing” to bring more happiness in my life. 

Start: 

1. Focusing on building relationships \ building a network :  I’ve had a lot of success as a restaurant manager by working hard and focusing on operations but to really grow, I need to build relationships in and out of work.  Being the lone wolf can only get you so far.  

2.  Watch the over eating.  I might be exercising and drinking water but sometimes I used my other efforts as an excuse to gorge myself.  Diminishing my progress.

Stop:

1.  Stop giving a fuck…about the things that aren’t worth giving too many fucks about.   That’s really for me to decipher.  

2.  Stop worrying.  I spend a lot of worrying about the stresses of life.  “Stop whining, start grinding”. While i feel like I accomplish more than the average person, I can get a lot more done by just putting my head down and doing it.  One day at a time

Continue:

1.Exercising \ Drinking Water.  17 lbs down , 20 more to go. 

2.  Completing DIY projects / helping around the house.  Lots of learning as I go

3.  Using strong time management and delegation skills at work

4.   Travel.  Whether near or far my greatest happiness comes from exploring. 
Conclusion:

I have good days and bad days. But I know Im living a much healthier and balanced life than I was 6 months ago.  Here’s to another 6 months of improvement.  

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

