June Recap

June is winding down as we reach the half way point to the Happiness Project.

I want to do a mid year review, probably tomorrow, but first let’s take a look at June’s successes and opportunities.

Take a Real Vacation

My trip along the east coast was well documented earlier in the month.  Making stops in Rehoboth Beach. Ocean City, Virginia Beach, and finally Richmond Virginia for the Tough Mudder.

It was a great time despite the shitty weather for the first half of the trip.

My favorite parts where taking Liam in the ocean for the first time and my morning runs along the boardwalk.

Cut People Slack

Friend doesn’t return your text in a timely manner?  Employee showing up late because they are having a tough time at home?  Guest misread the coupon and didn’t meet the purchase requirement?

Cut them some slack.  But we weary of those trying to take advantage of you.

Get Life Insurance

Kind of a big nagging task.  I signed my first personal life insurance policy that goes along with the policy that my work provides.   I sleep better knowing my family would be taking care of if anything happened.

Say Hello,  Use Good Manners

For someone who has to be reminded of proper social behavior constantly from his wife, this one took alit of practice.  But after alot of mental rehearsal I can be seen saying “good morning,” to runners and walkers in the morning and when I pull up to the coffee drive through and the girl says “hi, how are you” I don’t respond “fine…”.

 

Ask for help / Use Resources

Used my corporate contacts to purchase some new equipment for the restaurant as well as place some help wanted ads to grab some new employees. 
Find an area of refuge

I set up my office to where I can escape for a few minutes while the kids terrorize each other.

Nice warm nights I sit out on the deck.

And in the mornings I take long jogs.

Take time for mini-adventures / Day Trips

Looking through my blog the last couple months, there hasn’t been many days that I haven’t gone somewhere to explore.   But I tried to take the extra time to do a little mini-adventuring such as my trip to Otisco Lake and Buttermilk Falls in Ithaca.

 Wear the “dream” mask

I have been wearing the Lucid Dream Mask for most of the month and while I have not yet acheived Lucid dreaming, my dream recall as well as the details of those dreams have increases significantly.  Gonna keep trying.

 

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

1 thought on “June Recap”

Leave a Reply

