Back to the Grind

 

‘Rise and shine.

3am and your hand can’t make it to the alarm clock before the voices in your head start telling you that its too early, too dark and too cold to get out of bed. Aching muscles lie still in rebellion pretending not to hear your brain commanding them to move. A legion of voices are shouting their unanimous permision for you to hit that snooze button and go back to dreamland. But you didn’t ask for their opinion. The voice you hace chosen to listen to is one of defiance. The voice that says there was a reason you set that alarm in the first place. So sit up, put your feet on the floor and dont look back because we’ve got work to do.

Welcome to the grind.’

 

6f9768b80187afcad306a0f7083c38e8

Back from vacation.  Back to the everyday grind of restaurant managment and home ownership.

As much as I enjoyed my vacation and badly needed it.  I’m excited to get back to “work”

The weeks of waking up at 5AM and going no stop until about 8 or 9pm;  It doesn’t matter what I’m doing but just to be doing something to improve my career, my relationships, my body, my finances makes me feel alive.

I’m working in one my areas of refuge , my office.  A pantry converted into a makeshift hide-away.  Then my little man Liam sneaks in quietly and climbs on my lap.

I know what he wants.  He wants to  me to pull down each of my displayed snow globes one at a time so that he can hold them and shake them.  “I shake it…no blobe”.  When I get the last one he says “you’re welcome” instead and “thank you” and is on his way.

I love this moments.  Take time to be silly.

On a side note.  Liam had his three year appointment today and the doctor said that he was the size of a five year old.  This boy is going to be a giant.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

