Tough Mudder Virgina 2017 Part 1.

This is our 6th year of taking on the Tough Mudder Obstacle Course.  But this was our time doing one south of the Mason-Dixon Line.

And the southern sun was shining bright with clear skies. and 90 degree heat.

No amount of sunscreen was saving our pasty white bodies from a horrible burn.

My teammates this year were Chris, the best man at my wedding and TM running mate for all six years, and his best friend Matt, this being his 4th Mudder.

I was interested to see if my focus on getting back in shape would pay off since I usually fall way behind, leaving my much more physically sound teammates waiting for me at the next obstacle.

The 10.5 miles course  was held just outside the Virgina State Fairgrounds and we could see King’s Dominion amusement park.

before

After being pumped up by the TM pump up guy, “Coach”…yes I know as little flamboyant.   We were off for a 1 mile jog through the hilly switchbacks.   This is where I hang back at a gentle jog because I know if I start a race going to fast that I will be exhausted half way through.

coach

I go at my own pace and meet up with Matt and Chris at the first obstacle.

First obstacle is an easy one,  The Devil’s Beard.  Basically just a spider web of tight cargo nets that you have to crawl under.

devils-beard.jpg

 

Followed up by the Mud Mile 2.0.  Here’s where it gets muddy, climbing up and over muddy pot holes  While it’s not that difficult, you leave the obstacle with a few extra pounds of water weight and sneakers full of rocks.

mud mile

 

Then we are on mile 3 and the Hero Carry.

Nothing overly complicated here.  TM raises a lot of money for the Wonder Warrior Project so its only fitting that they have an obstacle where you carry one of your fellow mudders.    Matt carries Chris half way then I carry Matt the rest of the way.

hero carry

 

Head back into the woods and we come across Quagmire.  A new obstacle that makes the Mud Mile look like a walk in the park.  You jump into a deep pit of quicksand/tar light mud that was swallowing people’s shoes left and right  You have no choice but to have your fellow mudders  both up top and at the bottom help you to the top.

I don’t have a good picture.  Brand new obstacle.

Just before Mile 4 we hit another classic.  Kiss the Mud.

Now you are getting face down in the mud  Crawling low to avoid the barbed wire just above your head.

kiss the mud

Now its time for a long jog when we meet up with our spectators at the Berlin Walls after mile 5.

Your family and friends can purchase spectator passes but they don’t get access to every obstacle.  Hence some of the stock images

Check back for part 2.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2016 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a comment