May Recap Part 1

Damn this month flew by.  It gets very difficult to balance life changing resolutions and the regular duties of restaurant and family life.    However I did have a few notable successes this month.

Master the “5 Second Rule”

Inspired by Mel Robbins, I’ve practiced using the 5 second rule to tackle procrastination and tackling tasks that I just don’t feel like doing.  Specifically, my running regimen.  I completed the 8 week program in about 6 weeks because I tricked my brain into action when there were plenty of times where I wanted to just blow it off.

Indulge in a modest splurge

Certainly spent come of those hard-earned savings on some much needs items.   A new laptop, and 17 ft ladder for the house, and a much-needed getaway to NYC.

Stop, Breathe, then react

I have a bad tendency at blowing up at people before they are done delivering whatever bad news that spews out of their mouths.

By taking a second to listensand hear the individual out, I’ve been able to reduce the amount of times I have lost my temper.  Most of the times the news isn’t as bad as I first anticipated.

I do occasionally have my moments…sorry #HotHead

 

Get more involved in sons’ development\

Operation Childless Bed is still underway but I hope to get Liam sleeping in his own bed by the end of June.  Then It’s time to tackle potty training.  I do have to find more time to get more involved in Lucas’ schooling.  Nothing fills me with my guilt that not being as involved as I should be in his life.    They both have made great strides this year from all the coaching and therapies they recieve.  But I want to make sure I do my part

I’m not leaving Maddex out but let’s face it.  The kid is killing it at school.   Great grades, awards, you name it.   I do want to get to more of his school events next year.  6th grade for him is coming up…I remember going to his kindergarten Graduation, how time flies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

