BBQ Fest? And The Empty Fairgrounds

I promised myself that I would make an effort to go to some of the fine food, beer, and wine festivals this year.  I love the Taste of Syracuse so why not try some of the denominational events.

That’s what brought me to the NYS Fairgrounds on Saturday Afternoon for the 3rd Annual Salt City BBQfest.

The event was sort of a disappointment for me because despite the fact that there was 40 “pit crews” from around the Country and it was supposed to run until 11pm.  By the time I arrived at 5pm most of the pits were on their trailers and they made haste for the exits.  Only a few remained to listen to the cover bands play “Pour some sugar on me”.  I was looking forward to seeing some of the great pit masters of the Northeast show their stuff.

 

 

But the evening wasn’t only a total loss.  I got to have my favorate State Fair food early…I know I cheated.   Hammi’s Bacon Bomb.  Thick Cut Bacon with Italian Sausage, crumbled bacon, cheddar  cheese and BBQ Sauce.  Well Worth it.

 

What a turnout…

Got that right.

The highlight of the night was the stroll around the eerily calm state fair grounds.  I know that might not sound entertaining to most but there’s something euphoric about being somewhere that is usually crowded with people but now is deserted.  Like standing on the field at an empty Yankee Stadium or lounging in Time Square in the early morning before the city awakens.

 

Center of Progress Building …Looks small when it’s empty

28 days later

This is where the WADE SHOW MIDWAY stands.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

