New York City Day 1

Back after a long Mother’s Day Weekend and 2 day retreat from NYC.

Immediately back to the resolutions.  After the ride home I laced up my running shoes for a jog.   Then spent the afternoon working outside.

On to the trip.

I don’t take vacations like a normal person.  Laying on a beach or sitting at a bar on a resort doesn’t appeal to me.  So when I pulled in to the overpriced parking garage on Monday at 330 in my own typical fashion I intended on cramming as much site seeing as I could in the next 36 hours.

I’ve done all the typical, expensive Tourist Attractions…some more than once.  Empire State Building, The MET,  Top of the Rock, seen where they made SNL and the Jimmy Fallon Show,  Radio City Music Hall, all those things.  Side Note.  If you are visiting NYC looking to see the sites.  I suggest getting the CITY PASS.  Lots of options for the most bang for the buck.

I don’t overly plan these trips.  They are too unpredictable with travel times and wait times.  Besides a rough outline, we just wing it.

New Spot for me here on the far east side of Manhattan.  Chelsea Piers

Next two pictures are off Pier 54.  This ruin down piece of real – estate was where the Titanic was set to dock before it sunk in the Atlantic.

One World Trade Center in the Distant there.  You never realize how big Manhattan, let alone NY is until you have walked it.

Of course it would be under rehabilitation  But if you can see behind the drapes that is Ghostbuster’s Firehouse used in the films

Original Chinatown Ice Cream Factory – Try the Mango

Politics are all around us.

5th Avenue Building

 

Grabbed a burger, cheese fries, and chocolate shake from Danny Meyer’s wildly popular SHAKE SHACK in Madison Park

Empire State Building

“The Falling Man” – is he climbing or falling?  Is it a nod to the 9/11 Falling Man?

Read more here

The High Line at Night

“The High Line is a public park built on a historic freight rail line elevated above the streets on Manhattan’s West Side. It runs from Gansevoort Street in the Meatpacking District to West 34th Street, between 10th and 12th Avenues.”

MSG.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

