What is The 5 Second Rule?

I’m not talking about the folklore “5 second Rule”  where ” the fivesecond rule states that food (or sometimes cutlery) dropped on the ground will not be significantly contaminated with bacteria if it is picked up within five seconds of being dropped.”

I’m talking about the concept coined by Mel Robins, an American on-air  CNN commentator, contributing editor for Success Magazines. Robbins is best known for her coverage of the George Zimmerman trial and host of A&E’s Monster In-Laws.  Where she learned that it takes about 5 seconds for your brain to “talk you out” of doing something.  Whether it’s speaking up in a meeting, going up and talking to someone you find attractive,  or the decision to hit the snooze button over and over again.

Doodle-Building-The-Life-You-Love-13

The rule is a form of Metacognition : which in the most simplistic definition means  “to trick your own mind”.

” The moment you feel yourself hesitate (when you know you should do something) start counting backward 5-4-3-2-1, the GO. The Rule is a proven, form of metacognition. When you use it, you shift mental gears, interrupt your habit of overthinking and awaken your pre-frontal cortex – making change easy. The rule acts as a “starting ritual” that breaks bad habits and triggers positive new behavior change.”  Mel Robins

 

 click here to learn more

I started reading Mel’s book the The Five Second Rule and I immediately fell in love with it.  I set out this month to practice and master the concept.  

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

