Indulge In A Modest Splurge

I don’t know what’s in these little “zucchini cakes” my wife made but they are delicious.   I needed a healthy dinner because I did cheat a little on my diet today when  I sampled some of our new menu selection…there might have been some red meat involved…but I didn’t want it to go to waste.  

After spending next to no money on “non-essential” items for the last few months I am ready to indulge in a few modest splurges.   

To qualify, any money I spend I myself needes to help me move towards a goal or fullfill a resolution which in turn, boosts Happiness.

1.  A 17ft ladder – work on the outside of the house.  Needed to watch a video tutorial to figure out  all it’s 24! Setting…

2.  New dresser –  tackle a nagging task.  What’s with all these multilingual instructions these days…no text just pictures…took way longer than it should have.   Made me feel like I was brain damaged.    Since my boarding house days, proper furniture was always an afterthought.   Most furniture was handed down or picked up off the side of the road.  

3.  A new laptop.  Nothing extravagant.  Just a simple Chromebook.  I broke my laptop two days after the blog launched and not having one has made life very difficult.  

I was pleasantly surprised when I left work to see that it was warming up and the sun came out.  I rushed home to work on  painting the trim of the garage door before Patti went to work.  

Then we are out of here for the afternoon.  

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

