April Recap Part 1

Prayer III

Lord, I am not perfect by a long shot.

I confess to you that. 

But I work hard everyday 

And I hope that you hear me. 

In my heart I mean well

But it you’ll help me to grow

Then what I have in my heart

Will begin to show

What a difference a month makes.   Seasons change and at the end of March I was not feeling very good about things.  Even thought about giving up the whole project, but I stuck with it. “If I quit however…It will last forever”.

In April, I was able to get outside more as well as reach to more people in my life.

Let’s see how I did on my resolutions.

 

Pick up the phone

I’m horrible at picking up a ringing cell phone, returning text messages, and answering emails.  I’ve spent so many recent years turned in on my self.  Detaching from everything  and focusing on my work and kids, that I nearly completely shut out the rest of the world.  In the end that didn’t make me very happy.  One of the main reasons for the project.

I set out this month to pick up the phone when a familiar name pops up, reach out to my friends and family on a more regular basis, returning requests for my attention by the end of the day.

It wasn’t easy nor did I do it perfectly but as my wife put it , “you’re more connected to the world”.

 

 

Don’t expect Praise or Appreciation

As a spouse, it is natural to over value your contribution.   I’ve learned that it’s not productive to fish for compliments for any and all chores  or projects completed.   “,Just do them.”  And be happy knowing that you did your part within the household.  Praise feels so much better when its natural.

 

Things go the same for work.  I listed “recognition” as one of values that I desire the most. Like Gretchen, I love my “gold stars”.   I tend to get put out when they aren’t shutting my name from the rooftops.  I did my best to just focus on putting 120% effort at work whether or not I got praise from my higher ups.  In the end…I received a rare hand written card from the CEO,. Thank myself and my team for all the great results​ we have been getting.  

Good things come to those who wait I guess.

 

 

Work on your Core

I’ve never regularly worked on my mid section in my life.   I’ve ran.  I’ve lifted weights for my upper body but I’ve never done a plank in my life.  

Started at zero and got up to holding one plank for 2 min 30 seconds.  I had plans to shoot for 5 mins but I found it’s better to focus on doing one minute planks well while remaining still the entire time.   Those newbees know what I’m talking about.  You start shaking and rattling if your not fit.  I will tell you my recurring back problem have almost disappeared.  

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

