Empty Field, Dead Mall, and In this House We Disney

Spring break is in full swing in my town which can be very draining for those in the restaurant industry.  As is true for many fields of work… I had my teeth cleaned yesterday while the receptionist frantically tried to keep her own kids and all the other kids occupied in the waiting room.   

My point being that after a busy shift, I am left drained and need a few minutes to recharge myself before I go tame the “wild boy of Minoa.” My youngest.   If I can sneak away from work early,  I usually take a short walk by the canal before going home.  

Today I would again Go off the Path

What I found on the other side was truly peaceful. 

Not sure if I was allowed to be up here but it’s been so long since I’ve seen such a clearing.   This is the perfect place to have a picnic and gaze at the stars.   

I know I shouldn’t​

But couldn’t resist.  In my business attire, in the rain,  Sitting in a hunter stand.  

If there is one thing I’ve learned from Liam is that he needs to get out daily and expell some of that energy or he will be jumping on my head come 11pm.  It’s raining out so my next best bet is the run down mall 10 Minutes from my house.  

Shoppingtown Mall in Dewitt holds some good memories for me.  I remember fondly my Dad taking my brother and I to play Laser tag there on his weekends.  But in the last decade I don’t know how it even keeps it’s doors open.   All the know shops and vendors folding up shop and leaving the Skeleton behind. Here’s a visual aid. 

Old days….

Today…On kid vacation.  

But this is the perfect place to let your kids run around.  New parents…Don’t waste your hard  earned money taking your toddlers to all these places that cost a fortune.   Once in a while is okay but it will be well past the point of diminishing returns.  

Had to get is head out there

Thats my step son Maddex there with Liam

Now all this running around the last couple of weeks.  How are the rest of my Resolutions coming?

 I think they are all going great.  My end of month recap is coming next week.  But we have working on the house… Slowly but surely.  

Day 8  of the Plank Challenge and I’m at 2:15.  By Day 30 I should just be hitting 5 Minutes.  

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

