Chittenango, NY – Follow The Yellow Brick Road

Chittenango is a quant, little town about 20 Minutes east of Syracuse.  Mainly known for its agriculture infrastructure  It’s kind of a one trick pony.  Being known as the birthplace of Frank L. Baum, the author of the iconic series of children’s books and film adaptation, The Wizard of Oz they milk that notarity for all it’s worth.  Their sidewalk lined with painted yellow brick to resemble the yellow brick road. 

Sure, I’ve been to the beautiful, Chittenango Falls, visited The Wild ( an exotic animal petting zoo in the backyard of someone’s house,  and attended the less that spectacular, Oz-Extravaganza.  Even had the last of surviving Munchkins eat at my restaurant.   But I wanted to see if there was more to this place other than “a blink and you miss it”.  

I was armed with a 2 hours to kill, a jogging stroller, and a 2 year old that loves adventure as much as me.   In reality…Get him a snack and he’s a happy camper.  

I walked the main roads , back roads, and cute neighbors and I can honestly say that I was pleasantly surprised by all the interesting little trails, shops, and eateries there are.   I like to get out and start pounding the pavement when exploring an unfamiliar place as opposed to driving around or worse… Looking it up on the internet. 

Before more short visit, I didn’t think I could last an hour here without getting bored…Now I’m confident I could fill at least a half a day comfortably.  

Chittenango landing museum

All things Oz Museum

The creek walk (never knew existed)

Nichols Pond and Oxbow Falls ( never heard of)

Here some pics I took. 

Is that the witch’s bicycle?…No it’s a bike repair shop

The “ozman” gets really into the spirit

Some areas are pretty beat up which adds to the mystique

Do you have any little town near you have have a little history to them? 

Share in the comments below.  

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

