Carrot Patch Brownies

4/13

The Laughing Heart  by Charles Bukowski.

Your life is your life

don’t let it be clubbed into dank submission.

there are ways out.
there is light somewhere.
it may not be much light but
it beats the darkness.be on the watch.
the gods will offer you chances.
know them.
take them.
you can’t beat death but
you can beat death in life, sometimes.
and the more often you learn to do it,
the more light there will be.
you are marvelous
the gods wait to delight.

I hate baking.  Last time I baked anything that resembled bread or desert was back in Culinary School…10 years ago.   I remember my final practical.   Hand whipped meringue, french braided rolls, and short bread.   My meringue was whipped into “stiff peaks” .  I memorized the French braid sequence  “Now, start a normal braid; take the right strand and cross it over the middle strand. Next, take the left strand and cross it over the middle strand.” I managed to get a 100 only because it was on the curve and my younger class mates fucked up worse than I did.     I was always more comfortable until a broiler or with a saute pan in my hand.

“Cooking is art but baking  is a science”

My last baking experience at home was when my late grandma would  me to “lick the spoon” when she was mixing chocolate cake batter.  Oh how she would tell at me when I stole a piece of raw cookie batter.  I think I was 9.

So that brings us to 2017.   With Resolutions to Get in the spirit and Go off the path,  I saw a recipe on Delish.com for a carrot patch brownies using 🍓 with orange chocolate coating as 🥕.   It’s technically a nagging task as well because I have been putting off utilizing my newly purchased stove.

Total fail on the melted chocolate…Two attempts and it clumped up both times.

“Looks good dad…Can you please take off the stawbewweys?

In other news.  In the spirit of working on my core.  Started the 30 day plank challenge.  I have never done a plank a day in my life but I was able to hold for 41 sec on a day one goal of 20 seconds.  They say that any healthy man should be able to do it for 120 seconds.  By the end of the challenge I should be able to do 300 seconds or 5 minutes.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

