One Day Water Fast


I spent alot of time this year pushing myself to do a lot of things I should do.   I wanted to focus on learning self discipline to do something I shouldn’t do.  

I love to eat.  Too much.  You know the old saying.  Love to eat not eat to live.  

I read recently Eric Thomas’s bio, The Secret to Success.  He describes how when the joined the “Bell Tower Ministry” in college how they needed to complete a one week water only fast.   He talked about how mentally and physically enriching it was.  

So I did some research and figured I would start with one day Water fast.  In hopes of working way up to a 7 d

I started last night at 7pm  after I light dinner I took a jog which was probably the wrong way to go.  

Went to bed hungry.  Woke up hungry.  With the small pain behind my eyes that accompany hunger.  

Got to work at 545 and the hardest part of my day was not making myself the 6 or 7 cups of coffee that I go through during a shift.   

As I went down the cooks line filling out my prep lists I wS acutely aware of all the aromas that I used to not notice.  The cooked turkey, the BBQ sauce, the pickle juice.  

As the morning went on my headache got worse due the lack of caffeine and my head felt I was carrying a 50 lb dumbbell on top on it.  

I wasn’t hungry but definitely feeling​ the effects of no fuel.   I would get dizzy when stood up.  And getting through the back half of the shift was an aching drudgery.   I was slouched in my chair and “looking like Death” by the time I left.


I downed a least a gallon of water over the course of the day but by the time i got home ok was done.   And I still had 4 hours to go.  With a wife that was heading to work and two wild children I had no idea how I was going to get through it just as this fast was hitting it’s most debilitating.  

When the nausea kicked in I decided I needed to take a hot shower dispite the risks of passing out from the heat.  After I immediately crashed on the bed, using the ten minutes snooze button to get up and check on the kids, put dinner in the over, take it out, etc.  

I read a blog today about a guy who did a 6 day water fast while staying at a clinic.   He said on the first day “horizontal is your friend”.   Because in my 10 minute power naps I started to take on a mediative state and whenever I was lying down I felt amazing.   Maybe that’s why they say the fasting is so spiritual.   

When 7 hit the first thing I swallowed was 800 mg of ibuprofen.   Followed by a salad.   It’s important not to fix you stomach shock treatment.   30 Minutes later I was feeling right as rain.  And a few pounds lighter.  

I definitely want to work my way up to a week long fast.   But it will take practice.  I learned today what I already knew.   On fast days I should not work.  I spend way too much time on my feet and physically exerting myself.  

I am very proud of my single day without food.   It’s something I have never been able to will myself to do and I know that if conquer cravings I can conquer anything. And it also helps me appreciate all I have Never think about how many people don’t have food or water on a daily basis and not by choice.   

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

