Get your head out of the clouds and focus / Fasting Part 1

“​People are always trying to tell you how they feel. Some of them say it outright, and some of them, they tell you with their actions. And you have to listen. I don’t know what will happen with your lady friend. I think she’s a nice person, and I hope you get what you want. But do me a favor: Listen, and don’t ignore what you hear.” Justin Halpern Shit My Dad says. 

Let’s face it…I have a very busy mind.   While my mouth may not be saying anything there is a whirlwind going on in my brain.   I struggle to focus on and retain any information that is being spoken to me.  

“You didn’t listen to a word I said.”. “It’s like talking to a wall.” And my personal favorite. “You have a very obvious ‘tell’ when you’re not listening.  If you hands are on your hips… You’re not listening.  Of you arms on crossed… You’re listening” have all been said to be countless times not just from my wife but from Friends, peers, and sub ordinates

Oh I will respond we the appropriate responses.   But I’m actually way of in “Bill Land” almost immediately and not retaining anything. 

It’s not that I’m trying to be rude.  It’s just very difficult for me.  Recent personal events have forced me to revaluate how I interact with those most important to me. 

March’s Resolution to listen / engage  will be a challenging one.    

So when I’m being spoken too I have been trying my best to 
1.  Put down the phone

2.  Make eye contact

3.  Turn off background noise

4.  And when all else fails…Take notes.   

  Check back tomorrow night as I am undergoing​ and 24 hour Water only Fast.   

That’s no food or non spring water liquid for a full day.  

Comment below if you have every gone through a fast of any kind / or cleanse.  

What was your experience like?

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

1 thought on “Get your head out of the clouds and focus / Fasting Part 1”

Leave a Reply

