Happy Memories

4/8

When we think about our happiness we often think about our childhood.   We sometimes associate these memories with locations or objects.   

Some of my fondest memories are of my grandfather.   While I was only 7 or 8 when he passed away I can still vaguely remember what he looked like.  Still remember the scent of his trailer .   When he would pick me up on my way walking home from school (yes…Back in the 90s you would still walk home from school at the age of 6.).    But there is one place that I strongly associate with him and that I can remember clearly.   I remember the shopping mall that he used to take me to every time he would pick me up to go to the arcade and to get 🍕.    Remember what I said…We associate memories of people to places.   

I drive my wife crazy with my fascination of shopping malls.  Every time we travel I make her and my family check it out.    Not the big commerical malls like Destiny USA or Mall of America.  I go there just to put some miles in when it’s cold.  I’m talking about the old run down dying malls of America.   They all have a certain charm but there is one mall that makes me feel like I stepped right back in 1992.     Finger Lakes Mall out in Aburn.   The Cinemas, the arcade, the food court, the still working fountains.   Something so small and simple provided nso much enjoyment and bonding for Liam and I.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

