Autism Awareness Day

It’s that day again where for the last decade we have been urged to “light it up blue” and don something blue for Autism Awareness Day.   

But does that mean we understand Autism?  That would be true for myself until I became of father of an autistic child.  I’m very grateful for all my boys but all too often I’m confronted with a lot of ignorant people who are very insensitive to children and even adults who suffer from behavioral disabilities.  

If we are to be aware of autism we must first understand it.   I urge you to invite someone with autism into your group.  Get to know them.  Come to understand that everyone sees the world differently.

And don’t make generalizations about those who have it.  They are all different “if you met one person with Autism, you’ve met one person with Autism”    Stephen Shore

When Liam got diagnosed with autism when question was asked.  Specifically my mother asked it of my wife.  “Do you think Bill has Autism?”.  The answer is … I don’t know and I don’t intend on finding out.  Despite my idiosyncrasies​, obsessive behavior, and my social awkwardness I still found a way to”make it” I learned to complete the puzzle.   Just like my son will.   Just like everyone is forced to eventually.  Only difference is that everyones “pieces” are shaped differently.  

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

