March Conclusion

3/31

 

Push Yourself / Reward Yourself

These final two resolutions go hand in hand.  I certainly pushed myself hard this month.  With the exception of the my days off, I was  grinding hard from the time I woke up to the time I called it a day.  Waking up earlier, Staying up later.  I also realized that I need to push myself to be a better family man.  We all  have that a drug that we are addicted to…and mine was work.  So I tried to do everything I could.  Help Maddex with his homework, get more involved with Lucas’s schooling despite the distance, put down my papers and take time to squeeze and throw Liam around when he needed that stimulation,  I tried. to be more attentive and helpful to my wife who has her own problems and stresses in her life.  I hope it has made a difference.

I do also tried to reward myself for my efforts of self discipline (I swear…one day I will learn how to spell that word on my own).  I might not have kept all my resolutions this month as good as I wanted but I certainly was putting in constant effort.  So I settled on the little things.  I have been so good about saving money, not a real resolution, but still in the back of my mind to have some money put away for the warm months.  I would grab a DD Iced Coffee, or take an extra walk by myself, or most rewarding:  Completely unplug from work on some evenings.  I wouldn’t answer texts, or calls, or emails unless they were an emergency.    Thanks buddy…it was good advice.

 

Conclusion

Anyway you slice it…this was not a good month for me.  I had to learn some hard truths about myself that definitely hurt (The truth always does doesn’t it?).  Near the end of the month I felt  that I have taken 20 steps back and I was right back to where I started.     I don’t intend on giving up anytime soon.   It’s time to bounce back and use it to influence the rest of my project.

In like a lamb, out like a lion this time.

“No matter how bad it is, or how bad it gets.  I’m going to make it” Les Brown

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

