March Recap Part 1

“I’m fragile.  I feel Pain.  I hurt.  I open my eyes.  I create.  I conquer.  I hold the power

I’m a thinker.  I create victory.  I do not give up.  I feel no fear.  I fear no man.

I’m an athlete, a warrior, an artist”

Let’s take a look at the successes an failures of my 8 March resolutions and then set up the tone for the next phase of the Happiness Project.

 

Promote the blog

I feel I did very well exposing certain parts of my life that I normally would keep hidden from those around me.  I got a lot of kind responses.  Some said that it took a lot of courage, it was inspiring, or entertaining.   All those words made me feel great.  Connected the blog with a lot of other social media sites like Google +, Tumblr, and Twitter.  Those are still in their beta stage.  I even connected it with my LinkedIn Page just in case there were any publishers out there…wink wink.  Yea right.  I disconnected that shit after I saw my boss had viewed my profile…cool feature on LinkedIn, and the referenced it in a subtle way.  No way TOO AWKWARD.  Like I said earlier in the month, I played around with the functionality of the site.  Learning about categories and tags and eventually getting some “likes” from other bloggers when I touched on their subjects.  Like “wanderlust” and “autism” and “motivation”

At the end of the month.  The blog represents a process of a project.  And I have much more progress to make.  But I am very proud of some of its content.

 

Keep the Resolution Chart

Gretchen kept a ‘Resolution Chart” for all her resolutions.  Just a simple spread sheet where she have herself a “check” for a successful resolution and an “x” for a failure for each day of the month.   I have myself a HUGE X on this one.  I started out fine but I found it not very meaningful to do.  I knew if I did it or not.  Plus I wrote about it.  There is a certain level of accountability when those around you know what you said you were going to do.  Another reason I shared it on FB.

 

Take a Day off

March was a rough month to commit to taking a fully unplugged day off each week.  Since I only have 5 days out of the restaurant for the entire calendar month.  But I did manage 2 days off one week and 1 day off in the following weeks.  This past weekend I was able achieve touchdown.  I didn’t think about work at all.  I didn’t talk to my managers.  I didn’t check the online manager log.  I didn’t connect to the email server.  And it felt like victory.

 

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

