Beauty and the Beast

3/26

Feeling a little anxious and stir crazy  so i decided to take the family to see the new Beauty and the Beast movie.   

As a millennial , I grew up with this special string of Disney animated movies.   Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Lion King.   I don’t care what anyone says…There was never and will never be a better string of Disney movies.   My first memory of the movie theater was when my dad took my to see the Little Mermaid.   

 I bare no shame in saying that I love sharing these movies with my kids.   Liam perfers Finding Nemo.  Another great movie.   I also looked forward to sharing the live action experience with them.   

I will tell you that this movie looked amazing.  The scenery, the characters were spellbounding.   The story was the same as the 1991 version except they added some more details and back story to both Belle’s and the Beast’s character. 

Emma Watson played the role of Belle well, except her vocals were not as solid as her animated counterpart.  

My favorite character was the   pretentious and cocky, Gaston whom stole the show in my opinion

I would also like to credit Disney for their first openly Gay portrayal which was  also entertaining, L’fou.   This pays homage to the writer and composer of the 1991 music who was also gay and died of AIDs shortly after the movies premier.  

All the original songs favorites are back as a couple  enjoyable original ballads.

I thought the movie was great.  It’s a 2 hour movie that I felt dragged on a little in the beginning and middle but definitely made up for it with an amazing climax and finale.  

If you haven’t checked it out…It’s definitely worth the price of admission.   

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

