Address: East Bound Rt. 90 Service Station

3/25

Earlier this week I spoke about my departure from the Franchise, even touched on how I had to sleep in my office for a time.  What if I told you that I had a similar living arrangement when I left my life behind in Rochester to head to Syracuse for my first full service management job for what turned out to be one for the most fulfilling times in my life?

It was late March.  My time with my old company ended on Saturday.  I moved my stuff into storage on Sunday.  Began orientation on Monday at 8am.  I was in much better shape financially and physically than I was a few years earlier,  but I needed to created a catalyst to speed up my progress, get  my affairs in order, and save on up for a suitable 2 bedroom apartment.

My impregnated girlfriend would be staying with her parents near Buffalo for the duration of her pregnancy.  A little over 2 hours away.   I had a place to stay at my Grandma’s in Utica.  An hour each way commute.  My beat up Grand Prix not as full efficient as my Altima.   So I made the decision that had to be made.  I slept in my car in the parking lot of the east bound service station on Rt. 90  from April to August of that year.  Through my management training and their after.  And not a soul had a clue.  Everyone thought I was staying at my Grandma’s and my grandma thought I was staying with a friend.  This isn’t a sad story so don’t feel bad about it.  Because I had never felt so fulfilled and free.

How did I pull it off without looking…homeless?  Which I technically was.    It was pretty simple I sleep in the front seat with the back down.  My dress shirts hung in their dry cleaned plastic in the rear back window.  I had two laundry baskets in my trunk.  One for clean, One for dirty which I did late night at the laundry mat.  Along with my travel kit.  The entrance to my restaurant was about 50 yards from my gym.  Before or after work I would head there, work out, and shower, like any normal gym goers.

The most rewarding time was when I wasn’t working.  If I had the morning or night off I was free to explore my new frontier.  I lapped Green Lakes at sunrise, watched the sun set in Skaneateles.  I ate and drank on Marshall Street and watched Fireworks and baseball at the ball park.  I had never felt so free.  This marked another big moment in my life where determination was needed to better my situation and further myself to achieve my goals.

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

One thought on “Address: East Bound Rt. 90 Service Station”

Leave a Reply

