Happiness Check in

So I have been talking  the last few days a lot about my past as well as happiness in general the last few days.

Time to check in and talk about how I’ve been doing in my own happiness project.

Right now?

I’m doing laundry.   (we have a love hate relationship)  It’s one of the things I’ve been doing to Help my wife around the house.   It’s not fun but it’s part of my values as a husband.

Almost one quarter though my own project I can certainly say that my stress level has dropped significantly.  I certainly am still prone to the occasional fits of rage at work but they are few and far between.  Most of the time my voice is raised only to get my point across.

My physical health is steadily improving.  I don’t weigh myself.  But I just learned yesterday that I am down a pant size…after discovering a bad case of “sag ass”.  Looked like a full wet diaper.    But I continue to drink water and get outside and to the gym as much as I can.

While I am not always the nicest manager, or friend, or husband, or father.  I have been doing my best to say nice things, give positive feedback, and be thankful.

Its a long process.  That requires a lot of discipline.  How many new years resolutions have we all neglected to keep after the first couple weeks?  Maybe you have had successes.  At the end of it all I will have made 96 resolutions.  How many will stick?  Will there be a huge difference?

John Bytheway said it best  ” Life by the yard is hard…but inch by inch.  Life is a cinch”

02db8883be630b37908683f44284004c

What will I be focusing on in the upcoming months?

It’s all about having a well balanced life.  I will continue to focus on my health with the Boilermaker and Tough Mudder coming up.  With the warm months upon us, I will be out seeking a lot of adventure. God, life is boring in the winter in Upstate NY.  I will also continue to focus on getting the most out of my work so that I can better enjoy my leisure.  Most importantly I will focus on my relationships :  Listen to my wife, call my mom and show up.

 

 

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

