Wander to Find Peace.

3/19

If you live in the North East like me you are probably counting down the days to when the snow disappears and the beautiful Upstate sunshine takes over.  Today there is a sunny sky and mild weather teasing us as there is still over a foot of snow on the ground.

A lot of people ask me what I like to do with my free time.  When I’m not in the restaurant and I’m not taking on some massive to do list which has escalated with the implication of my Happiness Project Resolutions.

What is my favorite think to do?

I live a simple life filled with cheap amusements.

Walk or giving a more elegant term…Wander.  I know, how boring.  But I find no greater joy than strolling by myself or with my family.   Where do I walk?  Everywhere.  I love walking in the downtown of a huge city.  Admiring the tall skyscrapers and monuments.  NYC my favorite.  A beautiful boardwalk along the ocean.  Virginia Beach and Rehoboth Beach come to mind.   I love hiking…finding that elusive waterfall hidden from civilization.   During the polar months I have limited options.  I usually resign myself and poor family to walking the mall.

I love exploring new places.  Taking everyday day off as an opportunity to explore a new little town or visit a remote state parks.  I love local gems that are famous to those who live there.  The Rice Crispy Treat Donuts in the local bakery in Phoenix.  The Jell-O Gallery in Leroy.  The Garbage Plates at Nick Tahoe’s.  Countless others.

Much like running.  Walking/ Wandering provides a sense a calm. If I have a problem that needs solving…I take a walk.  Because if you can find the answer after a long walk…you’re not finding it.

You can probably gather by now that when the 5th or 6th month of winter rolls around that I’m going a little stir crazy.  My love of walking revealed another big key to my happiness.  The love of travel.  But I don’t need to go far to travel.  There is still so much I wish to discover right in my own back yard.

wanderlust

 

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

