Reflection

47abe476fa17818e74c3d91be356e8a8

3/18

The work day is complete.  The house chores are done.  The boys are happily playing as dinner cooks in the oven.

Lucas just came up to me and asked…”Daddy…is life fair?”

My answer?  “Yes. .. Sooner or later we all get what we deserve.  Whether that’s a good or bad thing is all dependent on you and the effort you put in.”

Do I believe in luck?  Some would say that I got lucky climbing the rungs of the ladder so quickly.  My answer is “yes”.  I also believe in hard work.   Thomas Jefferson once said , “I believe in luck.  And the harder I work…the luckier I get”.

I  go on to make coffee and light a candle (something about a glowing candle while I work”.   And just sit there at the kitchen table and watch the snow fly by my window.

When the work week ends I like to just take a minute and reflect.  It’s relaxing.    Knowing that I don’t need to think about prep lists, employee issues, or equipment breakdowns for a least 24 hours if I’m lucky.

I think about all the places I want to go once winter takes a hiatus… and how I’m going to afford to get there

I think about all the things I want to get done knowing that it’s time to take a break.

I think about years past…knowing how important it is not to dwell on the past but acknowledge its contribution into shaping who we are today.

Thanks to Time Hop I see that it was at this time many years ago that I left my hard fought for position at the Franchise and entered a management career with my current company.   How different my life was.  .   Details coming on my exit form the Franchise and my first Summer with my company in the coming days.   It might now be what you are expecting.

Sorry.  Nothing too interesting today.  But It’s time to TAKE A DAY OFF.  And I’m starting now.

Don’t forget to follow my blog and don’t be after to leave any feedback.  Good, bad. or indifferent.

 

 

 

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

