Management Paradox – March 13th

Took a long walk/jog to clear my head this afternoon.  Like I mentioned the other day, I’ve been thinking about my future resolutions for April.   Just like the months prior, by the mid way of the current month my resolutions have begun to become habit and it’s time to start brainstorming about the next set up changes I want to make in my life.

While I have ideas for marriage, parenting and lifestyle.   Work was weighing on my mind today.

I want to “Cut people slack” but also         ” Hold my people more accountable”  .

I find myself committing a huge management sin more often I like to admit… I ride my “stars” : the results driven, hard working, and team players.   Pointing out their every mistake instead of focusing my energy on the lazy, self-centered, and less eager to please.

Sure, I tend to reward my stars more for their efforts as well as dealing with my sometimes overbearing nature.   But I know how frustrating it must be for them when they constantly have to pick up the slack for rest of the under achievers.

So maybe a resolution about consistency in managing expectations is in order in April.

If you are in the North East.  Please be safe if you are expecting snow over the next 24 hours.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

