Push yourself – because no one else is going to do it for you. March 10th

After working a rare Sunday I failed to take a complete day off this week.   I had a complied a  to do list of various house hold chores that spanned the entire front page of a legal pad that I wanted to get done when I got home.    

I had gotten away from list making because I had been so engaged in tackling tasks as soon as they came up.   I have completed so many annoying things these first two months but I new I could get better.  So during some down time at work  I wrote a list for tonight, tomorrow, and a master list (which I have always struggled at).   

But as I got out of the shower I was attacked by a sudden urge to just lay back in my chair and waste away the afternoon.   

I knew if I didn’t do anything I would feel guilty and stressed out.   So  I put my ear piece in ( only one…Got the crazy kid running around) and set out to knock this list out.   I wouldn’t look at the clock…Just put my head down and not stop until it was done. 

So for three straight hours…In between multiple games of “ring around the rousy” and “last ride powerbombs on the bed” I…

  • Did the laundry
  • Sorted the socks
  • Did the dishes
  • Cleaned my office
  • Sorted toys to give away
  • Gave the boy a bath
  • Shopped for some things for the boys rooms.  
  • Fixed the door on my dresser
  • And more 😉

I was also feeling guilty about not exercising today so I forced myself to do 10 push ups in between each task.  

My momentum was derailed a little bit when I learned that my closing dishwasher at the restaurant failed to show up.   It consumes me to no end when there is staffing issues at my restaurant when I am out of the building.   I was my managers to not have to deal with being short staffed, they have enough to deal with, plus it drives me crazy when I can’t do anything in the moment.   

Before you knew it my list was complete and I felt like I earned my moment to rest before a new week starts

I’m reminded today of an old commerical with Hall of Famer Emmitt Smith.  He was bench pressing and the voice over came on.  “I just won the Superbowl…So I can rest now”   He fully extended the massive set a weights  and held it there for a moment.   Then brought it back down.  And then back up.   Then the screen read…”All men are created equal…Some work harder in pre-season”

Does anyone remember that commerical?

Even harder question…What was it an advertisement for?  I have no idea. 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

