March 4th & 5th – Take a day off

“Continuous time on-task sets off strain reactions, such as stress, fatigue and negative mood, which drain focus and physical and emotional resources. The brain’s ability to self-regulate–to stay disciplined–wanes with each exercise of self-control during the day. It’s a loss of resources that must be replenished, or it becomes harder to stay on-task, be attentive and solve problems”.  The Secret to Improving Productivity – Take Time Off 

https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/237446

I do apologize for not posting yesterday, I don’t miss posts that often, but I have a very busy day.

After work,  Patti and I had to rush out to Rochester for my best friend’s surprise birthday party.  So nice to get out and see her and her family.   Of course the young ones at the bar had to challenge me to do shots.  I don’t back down.  I knew the vomit and hangover were coming but it was worth it.  My poor wife… Dealing with me is not easy when I get like that as I turn into a contradiction of myself.  I will literally say or do anything.

Take a day off – one of my March Resolutions is centered around taking one complete day off a week from work.   I usually get one or two days off a week but even those days off are spent either answering calls or emails from clients, subordinates, and superiors.  Running errands for work, going in for reviews or meetings, and plainly being always connected in some way.

Predictably, this constant focus on work leads me to be become very edgy and short-tempered so everyone around me.   Got so bad at one point that my boss forbid me anywhere near the building on my last vacation.

Last month, I focused on  Delegation.  So now I’m ready to practice self discipline by training myself to completely disconnect from work for 24 hours.

After I perked up from my drunken experience last night I spent the morning helping my wife with the housework.  Doing dishes, folding laundry might not sound like fun…Or resting but I find them very relaxing.

I took Lucas home in the afternoon and now I’m relaxing with Liam watching Shimmer & Shine .   Cute kid show.   Soon I will straighten up the rest of the house and I can just feel the weeks tension melt away to the point that I look forward to a new work week tomorrow.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

