Feb 27th – recap part 2

diligence

  I can get sloppy sometimes in my work.  I’m always in a rush.  “Haste makes waste” has never been more true with me as I tend to make mistakes when ordering or filling out prep lists  which can bring extra stress on me and my crew.  Took almost the whole month but slowly my writing got easier to read and my “86ed” ( out of stock ) lists got less frequent

Act the way I want to feel

I thought this resolution would be difficult but I quickly learned that by acting happy when I was down worked surprisingly well.

When all else failed I would just throw myself into my work.  A distracted mind then sense of accomplishment would.make me feel better in not time.

Give positive reviews

This one was difficult.  Because being a restaurant general manager there is a natural snarkiness to my personality where as in …If I’m not yelling you then you are doing a good job.   But none the less.   I tried to praise my people more.   Complemented my wife for losing weight.   Told everyone how cute their kids were.  I even went as far as to give positive feedback on all my eBay buyers.

It’s difficult to be nice…But it feels good when I do it.

Read

I listened (read) too 2 new books this month.  Move Your Bus by Ron Clark and The Charge by Brendon Burchard.   If you are looking to move your life or business in the right direction I suggest giving these book a read.   When I completed those two.  I went make to my old favorites.  Medium Raw and Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain.  Humble Pie by Gordon Ramsay and of course The Happiness Project.  


Check back tomorrow for my overview of how the happiness project is working for me.  

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

