Feb 26th – Feb recap part 1

We are coming down to the end of month two of the Happiness Project.   Obviously being the short month I feel like it flew by.   But let’s take a look at this months resolutions and the successes and struggles

Eat a salad – in January I resolved to drink to drink 8 glasses or water a day.  Something I’m proud to say I accomplished and carried over to February.   So in keeping with the theme of being my healthy I set a goal to eat more leafy green vegetables.

First half of the month im happy to say I ate a salad everyday….For breakfast instead of a big bowl of pasta (I will tell you about my breakfast eating habits some other time).  I struggled with it mid month when I got the stomach flu…Then again I wasn’t eating anything.  Now I’m eating the greens every other day at least.  The real accomplishment is that on days I don’t eat a salad I usually pass on the grease burger in favor of a grilled chicken sandwich and I only ate pasta once or twice last month.

Delegate – not only have I gotten better at delegating appropriate tasks to my employees which has made me a lot less stressed at work.  I have also assigned my boys age appropriate chores around the house which has helped us keep a much tidier house

Old pic but it’s so funny watching him clean up his handy work.

Taking more off my plate helped me make my third resolution more possible

Help

I am still looking for the opportunity to make a big difference in someone’s life by helping someone personally who needs a helping hand.   But I have focused on helping my employees at work as well as my wife around the house.   I’ve donated a lot of food and energy to local organizations.  It feels great when someone acknowledges the effort you made to help them.

Remember Birthdays

I am notorious for forgetting or just blatantly not taking time to remember birthdays.   I was perfect this month.

I remembered my little sister’s birthday

I wished every Facebook friend good thoughts

And with the help of my staff and made sure that every employee birthday was met with cupcakes or some sort of baked good.

I know what I did was like the minimum ante for a decent human.  But it’s a huge step for me.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

