Feb 23rd – busy Thursday

maxresdefaultAnother day of grinding.  Thursday is always swamped for me.  First it’s the 150 pieces food order that includes 50 lb.  cases of mozzarella , 30 lb cases of wings, and dozens of dressing, sauces, and juices.  All that need to be dated and rotated into my stock

Then it’s the beer and liquor orders.   100s of dollars of wines beers and liquors.   Nothing is worse than the kegs that (I had to Google it) weigh 170 pounds.  Lifting them 6 inches of the ground can cause serious back injury if lifted incorrectly.

Then it’s time to edit the schedule.  Making sense of what’s right for the business while taking into account everyone’s needs and wants.  I try to be fair but it’s always important to reward the stars of the team while making time to coach the under performing ones.

Then its time to knock out my mile long list of one minute tasks while helping the opening server set up for the shift. I Delegate a few undone tasks to the night manager.  Nothing too crazy because he has his own To Do list to contend with.

Doors Open.  Produce is Delivered and put away.  Guests trickle in as do the rest of the employees.  The Host, The mid cooks, the rest of the servers.  By noon it is full tilt boogie time.  Restaurant full.  Servers running around and cooks bantering back and forth while keeping up a good pace.   It’s that “good busy” where no one is making mistakes and everyone is working hard and working together.  In walks my boss.  I’m usually annoyed by his presence because he seems to always show up when we are in the shit.  But today for once.  Everyone is at work and working well.

Walked along the Canal Side with the boys as the sun went down.

Another good day

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

