Feb 12th – “You will not outwork me”

“You might be smarter.   Your family might come from privilege.  Your daddy might own the company.  But you will not outwork me”  Eric Thomas

As lake effect snow pummel us up here in the North.  Its time to take a break and relax.  I did gave to work this morning but it was so slow that I just took in the break and joked around with me staff once I got all my normal work done.  A much needed break from a long week of hard work but in my career and on the home front.

Made me take pause and think about how I got here.  To this point.  I was (and still am) so shy and socially awkward that despite a privileged upbringing, In my mind I was never going to be much more than a lowly employee.

How did I become a successful GM of a restaurant in a heavily extroverted  industry where most of the personalities or overbearing, confrontational  and booming?  One word…Hustle.

I knew that if I wanted to succeed and provide for my family I would need to be willing to work harder than anyone.  And that hard work got me here.   But when I got to this level on knew I had to raise my game up more.   It wasn’t just about how hard I worked anymore…It became about inspiring others to Refuse to be outworked as well.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

