Feb 8th – Dark Road

“You’ve been down there, Neo. You already know that road. You know exactly where it ends. And I know that’s not where you want to be”?  The Matrix

The day started with a 5 am rise and I shot out of bed to head to the gym.  As I opened my garage door I was pleasantly surprised with a 48 degree morning.  I was like..”fuck the gym…time for a walk”

I parked the car about a mile from where I work and took a stroll through the neighborhood.  How I missed the joy of walking outside.  There fresh air…the cool breeze in this February non-winter wonderland.

While I may be bored as hell i still managed to get a lot done by noon.  paid and set up delivery for the stove, went to the dentist, did my food order, and delegated out a fair amount of my work load.

The afternoon was filled with working at home.  Hung up some more pictures, listed more items, and watched the Good Dinosaur with Liam on my lap.

I’m still searching for that opportunity to really help someone and make a difference.  I finished Ron Clark’s book today “Move Your Bus” and he reminded me that I won’t always have the opportunity to do something enormous.  But I can create small moments everyday for someone else.  So i will continue holding the door open for strangers, saying good morning, picking up the old ladies purse that fell (happened today).  Who knows…maybe I’m making a bigger difference than I know.

What was with the Matrix reference?  Neo knew he was living a mediocre life and not making a difference…he didn’t travel back down that dark road…because he knew that he wanted to be part of something bigger.  Kind of how I feel right now.  I have the house, the wife, the kids, the job and I am happy with that.  But I know there is more out there for me.

 

 

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

