Feb 4th –

I was relived to see this work day come to an end.  The restaurant industry is grueling.  Especially since most chefs or managers rarely get two days off a week , let alone in a row.  Like most 9-5ers Mon-Fri.  In reality the 9-5 job is already obsolete but that’s a story for another day.  After having Tuesday off it was right back to work putting in 40 hours in 4 days.  And I consider myself lucky to only have worked that much.  Now its a too short day off and right back to the grind again at 4am Monday morning.  I’m actually lucking out.  Due to a cancelled meeting I will actually have two days off in a row but then it’s right back for 53 hours in 5 days.  But that’s the life we live.

Wished 3 people happy birthday today.  I’m on a roll.  I try not to be bothered by it but I have noticed fewer and fewer wishing me birthday wishes on Facebook.  Then it dawned on me…I haven’t wished anyone besides my closest friends happy birthday in years.  In fact these were just “social media” friends.  Old acquaintances that I haven’t talked to in years.   I don’t want to be the kind of guy that dies and the only people who show up it my family.  What was the saying …”it’s not how much money you have in the bank…but how many friends you have at the funeral”.  I’m not saying that sending a one sentence sentiment will get me there but its a start.

As I wrote the last paragraph I tried to think back to when this total disconnect with the world that didn’t involve work or my immediate family occurred.  Growing up  I always had my group of friends, then I guess after highschool like for so many other, it all faded away.   I was so busy with everything I had going on between love interests, college, and climbing up the corporate ladder, that I couldn’t be bothered with anyone else that wasn’t moving me towards my goals and I wasn’t shy about those feelings.  Often acting rude and cold to any and all.  I didn’t need anyone, so I thought.   “I felt as if I had my regulator removed.  I couldn’t be counted on to act appropriately, to response correctly.  I treated the world as my ashtray. ”  Anthony Bourdain  Medium Raw.

There is good in me…now its time for others to see it.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

