Jan 31st – The Nagging Task

Tackle a nagging task was probably the most satisfying resolution to keep.   I’ve always had a long to do list and always loved to procrastinate.   So committing to complete some of those tasks took a lot of work.  But i got though it and if you look back to earlier I was actually asking for more tasks to complete because I was so on top of my life.   There are still big projects to do that I can’t do right now, either because of funds or the weather. (I can’t wait to tear up that God for Saken fence)

I close out the month by tackling a task that I have put off for months.   My dear sweet grandma passed away last March.   For months I have been meaning to clean out my stuff from the basement and garage.

My 22-year-old brother has been staying here but let’s get real.  He hasn’t a clue on how to maintain a house.

I got there early and got right to work.  I boxed things I wanted to keep. And pitched the stuff that was old and molded from water damage.  I took time to appreciate old memories.  From old school workbooks to old McDonald’s happy meal toys.  Even the evil Teddy Ruckpin made an appearance.

By  9 my brother was awake and quickly out the door.  I shoveled the sidewalk as well as the neighbors.  I remember how kind the neighbor Karen was to me and my family.   I straightened up the rest of the house but quickly found myself emersed in the silence.  I could feel my grandma in there.  It was peaceful just like she was alive.   I took it all in.   I don’t get emotional that often when. Loved ones pass away.  I find solace in knowing that they don’t have to suffer anymore.

My grandma spent over 50 years in the house.   She spent the last 6 months not her life in a nursing home because she kept falling.   I knew in my heart that when that day came and she could no longer be in her home that she would give up.   But I know she is in there.  Happy and at peace.

This concludes month one of the Happiness Project.  Check back tomorrow for February’s Resolutions and I add new challenges

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

