Jan 30th recap part 3

Follow the one minute rule – this was a very productive exercise but hard at first to discipline myself.   I always like to write lists of tasks big or small but I found it to be a lot less stressful if I just did the small tasks as they came up.

Nightly tidy up –  this made all the different in the world.   My house stayed very tidy and my wife would always compliment me on keeping the house straight.  And by the second half of the month I found myself with more time to work on small projects, tackle nagging tasks, and help more around the house.

Clear my storage areas.  I cleaned out my closest, my office, and the garage.   I set piles for sales and maxed out my free eBay listings.   Feb 1 I will list 50 more items.  Maybe have a garage sale.   It’s so much more organized and just needs occasional sprucing up.

Plan next day in advance.  I love to carefully but being the GM of an unpredictable restaurant.  I could plan my next day in detail at night then wake up and have half a dozen new problems to deal with that need to be squeezed in.   But it’s still a great practice so I decided it was best to make a list of things that need done and prioritize them.  Then add new tasks in the order of priority.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

