Jan 22nd 

So here we are at the start of another new week.   I feel like I took a step back last week as the melancholy feelings were all to frequent for my liking.   The reasons varied.  Not seeing my wife very often, frustration with work,  not having much to do to pass time now that I’ve tackled so much this month and activities are scarce in the heart of winter.   However a day off was just what I needed.

Besides sending a few emails with my phone I really didn’t do anything pertaining to work.  I certain that disconnecting from my work as, hard as it is, is good for the soul.

Discovered an amazing new song this week.  “Kansas City” by the New Basement Tapes.  This song and others by the group are derived from 50-year-old Bob Dylan lyrics that were recently discovered.   “I love you Dear, but just how long , can I keep singing this same old song”.  It reminds me that I can not keep dwelling on my sadness.   It’s OK to an extent but the key is to take action to change your life and happiness.

As difficult as this week has been I still did an excellent job on my January resolutions and the last couple days I’ve been working on Acting Happy to be Happy.   But that is going to prove to be difficult.  I will try to focus on boosting my mood by tackling nagging tasks, watch an uplifting or funny video, listening to music.

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

