Jan 18th _maid of the mist

Found the treasure when cleaning out another box hidden in my garage.   I love snow globes but these one brings about very sentimental feeling towards Niagara Falls.

I know it’s not that far away but there is something about this natural wonder of the world and the area around it that means so much to me that I still make it a point to go back in some capacity every year.

Why does it mean so much to me you might ask?   It was the last family vacation that my mom, dad, and brother all took together.     I was eleven and my parents packed us in the car and didn’t tell us where we were going.  3 hours later there we were crossing the border into Canada.   We spent the next few days doing the whole tourist thing.   Maid of the most, journey under the falls, Clifton hills, marine land.  I just remember how happy and innocent.  My parents separated the next year and no semblance of a family vacation was taken for the rest of my teenage years.   But I still return whether to the USA or Canada side to remember that feeling of something that was lost.

When I turned 18, where do you think my first adult getaway was with my girlfriend? You guessed it.  At a time where you could cross the border with a regular license.   Just to relive those memories as an adult makes that getaway one of my favorite vacations when most of the rest get lost in my memories.   I fully intend on bringing my whole crew there one day

Author: billshappinessproject

I was near the end of 2017 when I realized that my life was totally out of balance. I was 30 and I was working my life away. I did not have strong relationships with my wife, family, or friends. It was around this time that I came across THE HAPPINESS PROJECT by Gretchen Rubin. It was then that I decided to launch my own year long project towards personal happiness for the entire year of 2017.

Leave a Reply

